Search open search form

Schedule


Upcoming Meetings: 2019-20 Spring Term

Thursday, 04.02.2020, 7:30-9pm PT ~ Club Meeting

Tuesday, 04.07.2020, 7:30-9pm PT ~ Club Meeting

Tuesday, 04.14.2020, 7:30-9pm PT ~ Club Meeting

Tuesday, 04.21.2020, 7:30-9pm PT ~ Club Meeting

Tuesday, 04.28.2020, 7:30-9pm PT ~ Club Meeting

Tuesday, 05.05.2020, 7:30-9pm PT ~ Club Meeting

Tuesday, 05.12.2020, 7:30-9pm PT ~ Club Meeting

Tuesday, 05.19.2020, 7:30-9pm PT ~ Club Meeting

Tuesday, 05.26.2020, 7:30-9pm PT ~ Club Meeting

Tuesday, 06.02.2020, 7:30-9pm PT ~ Club Meeting



How to participate in the meetings (must be on computer, not mobile!):

Since classes are being held off-campus during the spring term, there will be no in-person club meetings until the fall. The meetings this term will be 1.5-hour "arena"-style tournaments each week on Caltech's Chess.com club page in lieu of in-person meetings. These are open to anyone at Caltech or in the broader community with a Chess.com account who is a member of the online club page. The time control is fixed at 3 minutes per person + 2 second increment blitz.

1) Join the online club page: https://www.chess.com/club/caltech-beavers-chess-club

2) Any time between 6:30pm-9pm PT, you can join the meeting by logging into Chess.com, going into 'Live Chess', and clicking on the 'Tournaments' tab. From there, click on the 'Caltech Chess Club Meeting' tournament and hit 'Join'. The arena starts promptly at 7:30pm PT, but you can join after that if you wish and leave at any time as well.

The games are just for fun, but for more information on arena scoring and pairings, read here: https://www.chess.com/blog/News/welcome-to-the-arena-a-new-kind-of-chess-tournament

https://www.chess.com/blog/News/welcome-to-the-arena-a-new-kind-of-chess-tournament

~ Caltech Chess Club Officers



Past Meetings: 2019-20 Winter Term

Thursday, 01.09.2020 ~ Club Meeting

           8:30 - 10 pm, Avery Library

Thursday, 01.16.2020 ~ Club Meeting

           8:30 - 10 pm, Avery Library

Thursday, 01.23.2020 ~ Club Meeting

           8:30 - 10 pm, Avery Library

Thursday, 01.30.2020 ~ Club Meeting

           8:30 - 10 pm, Avery Library

Thursday, 02.13.2020 ~ Club Meeting

           8:30 - 10 pm, Avery Library

Thursday, 02.20.2020 ~ Club Meeting

           8:30 - 10 pm, Avery Library

Thursday, 02.27.2020 ~ Club Meeting

           8:30 - 10 pm, Avery Library

Thursday, 03.05.2020 ~ Club Meeting

          8:30 - 10 pm, Avery Library


Past Meetings: 2019-20 Fall Term

Thursday, 10.10.2019 ~ First Club Meeting

           8:30 - 10 pm, Avery Library

Thursday, 10.17.2019 ~ Club Meeting

           8:30 - 10 pm, Avery Library

Thursday, 10.24.2019 ~ Club Meeting

           8:30 - 10 pm, Avery Library

Thursday, 10.31.2019 ~ Club Meeting

           8:30 - 10 pm, Avery Library

Thursday, 11.7.2019 ~ Club Meeting

           8:30 - 10 pm, Avery Library

Thursday, 11.14.2019 ~ Club Meeting

           8:30 - 10 pm, Avery Library

Thursday, 11.21.2019 ~ Club Meeting

           8:30 - 10 pm, Avery Library

Thursday, 12.05.2019 ~ Fall Tournament

           8 - 10 pm, Avery Dining Hall